I got a job! Thanks so much freeCodeCamp!

After almost two years since starting on freeCodeCamp, I began this week my first job working as a software developer for a large company. Up until the end of 2017 I was a university instructor teaching language and literature. I got started on fcc in August 2016 when I decided that I wanted to make a career change into software and web development. Although I used several other resources along the way, freeCodeCamp remained the backbone of my re-education strategy throughout the career-change process. No other resource on the internet comes even close to giving you such a comprehensive roadmap on how to move from complete beginner to web developer.

At many stages of my journey from humanities instructor to software developer, the skills I learned on fcc were crucial. I’ve outlined my journey below. I do this to encourage and help others and to express my deep gratitude for the freeCodeCamp community. I find it so amazing that freecodecamp manages to be both completely free and the best resource out there. I’ve donated to them, and I encourage others who have profited from the organization to do so as well.

With gratitude,
Marcus

My background:

• I have a bachelors and a PhD in literature.
  • As an undergraduate, I also took many economics courses, and one computer science class, Introduction to Java.
  • When I started freecodcamp, I knew not a single thing about html, css, etc. My only prior programing experience was the Intro to Java course I had taken 12 years ago in college.

How I worked on freecodecamp: