I got a job! AMA

I really meant to post this earlier in the week (or even last week), but things have been such a whirlwind of activity that I completely forgot.

Long story short, I am now gainfully employed with a medium-sized company as a front-end developer! It was a really great find for me because this company is willing to work with self-taught developers to get them up to speed, and they understand that it will be an investment on their part. They develop everything in house, so project deadlines are very relaxed. Overall, I’m having a great time so far and am very excited to have landed my first job.

Rather than detail every single step of the process, feel free to ask me anything about what I experienced. I would love to share. I’ll do my best to answer everyone, but bare with me if I take a little while.

Big thanks to FCC and the community for helping me to get where I am today!

34 Likes

Congratulations! What is your prior coding experience prior to joining freecodecamp? How long did it take? When did you begin to apply? Where did you find the job to apply to? At what point in freecodecamp did you get your job? Did you finish the entire program?

Thanks
Jennifer

7 Likes

I want to know everything you asked :smiley:

2 Likes

Awesome! Congratulations on your new job!

My question is: were there any resources that you used outside of Free Code Camp that you found helpful?

11 Likes

Congratulations on the new job!

1. Can we see your portfolio :smiley:? Was it important at all or did they prefer looking at your GH profile instead?
  2. Did you ever get that “I’m not good enough” feeling when looking at job postings? (This is what I’m struggling w/ at the moment.)
  3. What was the interview process like? (Was there a test of some sort, and stuff like that.)
7 Likes

Prior Experience - Tutored some C# and C++ intro classes and had a few intros myself. Nothing more complex than some simple object-oriented concepts in one-off classes.