Got my FIRST DEV JOB! 🚀

Hi everyone :wave:

I’m super excited and happy to share with you this news:

:rocket: I FOUND MY FIRST DEV JOB :rocket:

I can’t express how grateful I am tho the whole freeCodeCamp community. Discovering freeCodeCamp curriculum and this forum was the best thing that has happened to me during my learning journey. Thank you!

Hoping that someone will find it useful I’d like to share with you some of my thoughts and lessons that I’ve learned during my coding journey.

Facts

• no university degree – I quit university by the end of first year

• no previous tech experience – I used to work as a waiter, barman and a customer service assistant

• no previous coding knowledge – the only thing I knew before I started learning to code was that a website is made of head and body

• location — I’m living in Poland and this is where I’ve been looking for a job

freeCodeCamp

I’ve already said that I’m really grateful for discovering freeCodeCamp. Here’s couple of reasons why:

• building projects – this is where I have finally started building projects on my own and when I started to build those I realized how little I have learned by coding along video tutorials

• feedback – whenever I finished a project I would post it on the forum and get really valuable feedback

• answering questions/solving problems – very often when reading some posts I thought that I knew the answer to the problem but I had no idea how to explain that. This made me read more about the subject and it was a great way to learn.

Sell yourself

If like me you don’t have any previous technical experience you have to make yourself stand out from the crowd and get your potential employer curious enough to contact you. Here’s what helped me achieve that:

• GitHub – nice and green commit history as a great way to show your determination and consistency

• Portfolio – your skills in action, all the projects gathered in one place

• Resume – I tried to keep it clean and simple