Scored a Front End Developer role thanks to Free Code Camp!

So I just finished up my second week as a Junior Front End Developer and I am loving my job so far and think it is only going to get better! :sunglasses:

I was nervous about posting about it at first until I was sure it was going to work out but I am feeling safer in my role each day and think it’s time to share for anyone else out there in the same situation that might be doubting themselves or got a job offer and feel unsure what to do.

So a bit of background: I completed a degree in Computer Science back in 2010 and done really well in programming subjects but only really had exposure to C/C++ and shell scripting when I left. I ended up in an IT Infrastructure role which was interesting work but I wasn’t ready for it and it wasn’t my goal which was to work in some flavor of software development. I left after a year and worked survival jobs for the next 5 while trying to learn various programming languages using online tutorials (HTML/CSS/JS/SQL/PHP) but with no structure so I didn’t have anything to show for it and the skills faded as quickly as they came because I wouldn’t keep practicing. For years I struggled to get into any development role and then I came across Free Code Camp!

The basic HTML/CSS/JS I had learned did make things a lot easier along with my university course but regardless, Free Code Camp introduced all the important concepts but most importantly it pushed me to do something with the knowledge and create a project portfolio. The project challenges were the most important aspect for my learning as I had to do a lot of research to put each project together. I got stuck on occasion as I imagine most do but I kept at it and used the forum when I ran out of ideas with a problem.