26, no degree and zero job experience - career advice needed

Title says it all but I’ll expand on it a bit. I tried to get a degree in IT in my early 20s but stopped during my second year. I also have no experience as an employee of any kind, like I literally have never experienced working for someone else all my life. I did own a very small business that my parents handed to me if that counts as experience, but I’ve already closed it down a while ago.

So long story short, I’m currently an unemployed 26 year old dude without any college degree. Say that I continue doing the self-taught route, what are my realistic chances of being successful in the field of web development considering my background? Would employers take a chance on a guy in his late 20’s who has never had a job experience before or is that just wishful thinking?

Also, should I consider going back to college to get a degree? I’ve been strongly considering it lately, but I’ll be around 30-31 by the time I graduate. I’m worried that it would drastically reduce my chances of being hired, being a fresh grad at 30 and all…

1 Like

options are
1: get a job learn coding on the side
2: get a job do a online study
3: go back to school and get a massive debt
4: go to school and work at the side

2 Likes

College education is free in our country so I don’t have to worry about the debt part.

This is a serious dilemma. The good news is, if you can go on living without income. You should spend the time learning as much as you can and build yourself a reputation which ever field you decided to take on.

If you are seriously about getting into the IT field. You’ll have to be very specific what you choose.

• Web Application
  • Game Development
  • VR
  • Software
  • Hardware
  • Networking