About applying to job positions withouth the asked education

It has been said in plenty of sites and forums that you should apply for jobs even if they dont match all of your requirements, including if they ask for x years of experience or they ask for an specific education.

In my case I´ve been learning for little more than a year, and I have done an short bootcamp during this time. I´ve built a portfolio. With this in my back I´m appying to jobs that:

• Ask for 1 year or less of experience.
  • Ask for education that is not a CS degree (bootcamp or vocational schools degrees) or they dont even ask for any education (very rare but sometimes I find some).

However I have a doubt. Should I recognize in my cover letter that I do not that have that education? What about experience? Should I write like I assume they refer when they talk of “experience” also self-taught experience? (even though i know they mean professional experience) Bascially the job site where I apply cover letter is very important because the CV section is quite poor so most companies the first thing they read is the cover letter so I wonder if I should recognize there that I do not have the education they asking for or I should just dont say anything.

1 Like

The education requirement is mostly a formality of the req – just ignore them. I have no degree, and I always left the education section off my resumé entirely. Never had a single interviewer ask me about education. Nowadays I have enough experience that I can laugh at anyone who tells me I need a degree (I’m quasi-freelance anyway, so I laugh at interviewers in general).

Cover letters are a waste of time. Absolutely no one reads them now. Instead, punch up the little “about me” blurb that goes at the top of the resumé, which is usually the first thing people see.

3 Likes

Well thanks for the reply I guess I’ll have to start applying a more jobs if I feel the job offer is a good match even if they ask for a degree!