About the artistic side of front end web development

I’d really like to discuss with anyone interested about this topic.
I see a lot of resources in the web that focus almost 99% of the times on the logic side of web development, ignoring the artistic component.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not an artist myself but I’m pretty sure some of you, like me, came across a certain website that looked particularly good. You know, those ‘simple’ single column layout websites you scroll down from top to bottom and think ‘This is pretty simple, I could code it myself’. Yet it looks stunning. The right choice of colors, fonts, positioning, backgrounds, images… that turn what could look like an amateur first attempt of a website into something that really catches your eye.

How do you feel about this part of web development?
Do you find it interesting?

Personally, I’m researching more about it, and I will try to post every resource I find helpful in this post.

2 Likes

That’s web designers. Working with stuff like Gimp/Photoshop etc.
They come up with the style of the page, fonts to use, colors to use, positioning of elements etc.
But they generally don’t write the code, they just hand it over to a frontend developer.

I for one hate designing, I just want a done template so I can work with the backend and JavaScript stuff. I find writing CSS and HTML very dull, but I have to do it to a degree.

Hey @Stahlone,

Thanks for raising the artistic side of front end.

That sounds like something I’m also interested in.
The type of web pages that uses minimal effect but blend very well as a whole.
You get to find such under minimalist website when looking for it in Pinterest.

Pinterest suggests good ones and you should have a look at them.

I’m trying to achieve it with my JavaScript calculator project (https://codepen.io/geek4ctrl/pen/pqmeJm) which is still under construction.

I’ve worked in a design-related job for the past decade, so it’s something I’m acutely conscious of.