Artistically challenged - am I wasting my time?

As I complete my first HTML/CSS projects on FCC, I’ve come to find that I’m sometimes more frustrated with style, design, color than with the coding itself.

I’m a machinist. That’s my current full-time occupation. In this trade I would say a good machinist is definitely a creative person in a way that lends itself well to coding. Working with and understanding various machine tools - their capabilities and limitations - and how to use them to get to where I need to be. Very analogous to coding, I think. So the code half of things doesn’t bother me so much. What has been bothering me lately is looking at the finished projects of other people on here. They look so nice! I just finished writing the markup for my survey project. I got all the code to pass easily. But now that I’m trying to apply a style to the thing I can’t seem to get it to look… Not ugly.

I can’t draw well. I can’t seem to pick any pleasing color combinations. And my layouts always wind up being pretty much the same.

So my question: is there a place for a person like me in web development? Or am I just wasting my time since I probably won’t ever make anything very visually pleasing?

Good UX (user experience) design is not art. There are rules and best practices and research to back them up. The vast majority of web applications are not meant to look like works or art. They should be easy to use, adaptable, and usability oriented. If you actually use reference material for design decisions, you’ll actually be doing much better than most people who trust their “eye for design”.

Yes, there is.

This is also something you can get better at with a little practice, but visual design isn’t something every dev has to concern themselves with.

If you happen to be a good designer then you can be more marketable in some contexts, but it’s not necessary for all programming jobs.