Absolute beginner looking for other sources to learn from

Absolute beginner looking for other sources to learn from

Hi I started FCC recently and am really getting into it but I have no previous experience in code,what other sources are best to look into to further my self teachings. I’ve tried looking online but there is so much out there I’m not sure where else to start for the best.

I just made a post about an edx course that would be great for an absolute beginner.

It will give you a great foundation to learn programming. It will make it easier for you to pick up python, JavaScript, ruby or whatever.

I’m at the point now where I’m willing to spend a little towards learning but obviously the free is always a great option.
My goal is hopefully to build a new career out of this.

Here is a large list of resources for various areas for developers, and lots of user comments to go with them…

What-are-the-best-online-web-development-courses

Thanks I’ve bookmarked the link to edx at the moment I’m willing to look at any new material although I’ll have to be careful not to overwhelm my self with too much information because I’m really getting into this and could easily get carried away.

@betterman77

Look into Code School. Well worth the reasonable fee that I pay every month.

Here are my learning resources since a year ago :

1. Tried FCC - basic Javascript too hard. Heard Python’s easier.
  2. Bought a book on Python/Django development from Leanpub (they have some affordable/free books). Didn’t get any of it. Tried some data science with Python instead.
  3. Thinks mastering Python is hard too. Tries Ruby instead, then Rails.
  4. Signed up for a signature track on Coursera.org, spent late nights writing code.
  5. Wrote Rails apps, tried looking for job. Employers say I must know Javascript to work for them.
  6. Back here in FCC - now quietly accepting abuse from Javascript.