Advice to land a junior web developer position

Question answered, thank you!

First, a good effort on both, especially if you’re new to this. However, your portfolio and resume contain a lot of mistakes I see commonly made, and fixing them would improve your odds at getting through to recruiters/HR.

Portfolio site:

• First, the first pane on your portfolio site doesn’t grab any attention. So many people nowadays are self-taught web developers, and saying that about yourself doesn’t set you apart in any way. I’m not good with ideas, so not sure what to suggest, but you should come up with a totally different first pane. And try to use an image instead of only text.

• Some would disagree with me, but I wouldn’t recommend calling yourself a “Web Developer” when you’ve had no professional experience. Try to find another way to brand yourself.

• Your “About Me” section should be last, and I’d recommend making it shorter. Not many people will bother to read the whole thing. If you can, make it just one summary paragraph.

• Your “Projects” section should be placed first on the page. Also your wording on each project description is way too low-level in terms of technical details. You need to “high-level” all of them and just state in one sentence what each app does in a general sense. If you want to mention the technologies, make a short bulleted list of just the technologies and use extra words very sparingly - i.e. “React w/ Hooks and Router”.

• Your email address should be something not on Cornell. You’re not likely to have a Cornell.edu account forever, so use something like Gmail.

Resume:

• Your URLs all should be spelled out. Don’t use HTML to hide them behind “Portfolio”, “GitHub”, and “LinkedIn”. And as I mentioned before, would recommend not calling yourself a web developer when you haven’t had experience yet.