Anyone else loose their motivation due to chat gpt

I have kind of lost my motivation due to chat gpt im new to coding and it seems like it already codes better then i do. I could see it helping out advanced coders but as a beginner coder it seems like it does the jobs that i would probably get.

ChatGPT often writes wrong code, and it doesn’t know how to design code .

1 Like

Hey C,
I loose my motivation weekly, sometimes even daily. lol
I just get back on my horse and say to myself, “It WILL pass.”
:sunglasses:

2 Likes

HI @cmar !

A lot of beginners have expressed fear around Chat GPT and if there is a point to learn coding anymore because they might be replaced. I think this fear from beginners comes from a lack of understanding on what the job is actually like.

When I was first learning how to code back in 2020, I wasn’t fully sure what the job was going to entail either. But then when I started working as a developer, I realized that code was only a fraction of the job.

Here are some of things that I have done within the past few weeks:

• having a few team meetings with management to outline the new features and upgrades we want to make to our company products
  • have team meetings with clients to understand their business needs and requirements and later discussing with the team the best strategies moving forward with those new features.
  • writing tests for our company products and client projects
  • Troubleshooting, debugging, and maintaining the company’s existing codebases. A lot of this time is researching through previous stackoverflow answers and github issues.
  • writing technical documentation for our new products and updating documentation
  • building out new features based on business requirements

ChatGPT is going to be a help to developers and just another tool that we can use.