Anyone here (student or not or graduated CS) feeling like CS schooling (if not MIT or Stanford..etc) is somewhat, not completely, a waste of and money and time?

So, I’m a junior Computer Science major and I am not sure whether I am just wasting time and money doing school.

My problems are that I’m a junior and I feel like I haven’t learned much of anything while in college that I couldn’t have just self taught myself(CS material). I also find myself gravitating towards doing FCC projects instead of school Assembly lang assignments . In addition, Most of the profs just regurgitate what’s on slides with no care to establish further intuition by simplification or other methods, so I end up teaching myself certain CS concepts anyway. Furthermore, in the time I’ve been doing FCC, I’ve felt much more accomplishment that I have actual real world projects and I actually learned more through application.

This really hit home for me today when in class today and we discussed get, post, build a JS calculator, and all these things that campers such as myself, have built projects on top of, but here I am paying 3,000 dollars to still learn it. Keep in mind it took three years to get to this point (Dynamic Web apps) while in FCC it took 2 months. Not looking for an easy way just an efficient one And the projects on FCC seem to be more challenging than this course. Maybe, I’m just emotional right now, but…idk. I need to hear people’s opinions.

1 Like

I know how you feel man, well first it is possible to self teach yourself everything in college, including there is this git rep https://github.com/open-source-society/computer-science, which outlines the curriculum and gives you the link.