Apprenticeships

Hi all. A newbie here.
I am considering a few apprenticeships through Makers and other companies to make a break into software testing/data science. You come out with a Level 4 Software Testing/ Level 4 Data Science after 18-21 months of training and placement in a tech company.
My question: what seniority/experience level is a Level 4? What kinds of job prospect can I expect from this? is it worth the 1.5-2 years of minimum pay, or is it better to take a course to achieve the same level of certification?

Thank you in advanced!
Annie

1 Like

In the US the only time similar levels are used in a remotely standardized/consistent way is when you are working for the government. Outside of government contracts, terms like that don’t mean much because different companies can call their positions whatever they want and have as many “levels” as they like.

I’m not in the UK so I don’t have context for this, but it appears that (in England specifically) they recently began rolling out something called “T Levels”. This government document has an overview and several links that might be more helpful. If this is the “level” that the program you’re interested in is talking about, then the program hasn’t really been around long enough for people to be able to compare it to a more traditional way of starting your career. According to that document, a T Level is expected to take 2 years to complete and the program only began in 2022.

1 Like

Apprenticeships are kinda normal in the UK, iirc around 10% of the workforce (overall, across entire workforce) is via them (much higher in some areas). Government has been pushing pretty hard to increase involvement/options so there are alternatives to other HE paths. Outcome in terms of getting a job is :+1:, figures in high 90%-ish.