Bootstrap.min.css is a mess!

Bootstrap.min.css is a mess!

Hi all

I’m trying to edit the looks and feel of the buttons in bootstrap so they look like the buttons that came in the FCC tutorial, but the files is a mess! This is the bootstrap.min.css files.

Does it look like this for anyone else, or only for me? How can I make sense of it, and is there a clean version available?

I’m using the btn element.

Just read this. Does this mean I style the btn element in my styles.css sheet, and it will edit how the button looks?

Maybe a silly question but why don’t you simply edit your CSS file to override the Bootstrap ?

Just seen that, I’ll try it out.

Sorry for the noob questions :cry:

Does anyone know the code that the FCC thing used? I like the look of them. :smile:

Never be sorry ! I’m a noob too and have to awful tendency to try to answer questions…

Thank you! :smiley:

Its does help :slight_smile:

min means minified - i.e. all the whitespace is removed.

In your screenshot there is a bootstrap.css - try that.

Okay, will do!

Can someone send me the code that the FCC used in their example of the button? I’m trying to do it like that, but I’m struggling.

Yes, and you’ll probably have the situation where your css doesn’t take effect at all. In that case, open your Inspector (Dev tools) and look at the element in question. If your css is barred, that means that Bootstrap is stronger, that is, that they use more specific selectors. So just copy the selector and put it in your CSS file.

If you’re not sure about what I mean, look in the wiki, here or also this cheatsheet for CSS selectors.

Cool! According to the link, if you have the styles.css lower down in the header, it overrides the bootcamp.min.css. Is this right?

Yes, that’s the minimum condition for it to work at all, but after that you’ll need to make sure your CSS selectors are specific enough.