Why am I having so much trouble with Bootstrap?

Lets be honest, I’m not very good at CSS. I usually have to go back and forth moving and trying different ways to align and position things on the page. Let’s just say CSS would be my weakest point, but I do eventually get there and coupled with the fact that I am a horrible designer, I have trouble building front ends. That said I’ve gotten much better at it and I need to learn how to build ground up websites even if my end goal is to be a back end engineer. So I’ve been messing around with projects from FCC, Lynda, Udemy, and some of my own and my general feeling as of late is that I enjoy Sass over CSS and vanilla JS over JQuery (with the exception of AJAX calls although fetch is awesome). Today though I started building a 4 - 5 static page website for a relative’s business and I thought it wouldn’t hurt to have a full website with Bootstrap and JQuery in my portfolio. I wire framed index.html in a couple hours with Bootstrap and it looked like Bootstrap. When I started adding CSS to make it look not so Bootstrap things started flying all over the page. I was breaking things left and right with a single line in the CSS and I had no clue how to fix them. I didn’t even know what as causing the issues a lot of the time. I thought I would track it down in dev tools, then I would change it in the CSS and some OTHER Bootstrap class would then over write my CSS. I’ve worked through the bootstrap section here, taken courses on Lynda and Udemy in Bootstrap and feel confident using Bootstrap. Nothing has taught me how to modify Bootstrap and I’m ready to kick it to the curb and write plain CSS. I see plenty of Envato themes though that are “Bootstrap Enabled” and look nothing like stock Bootstrap. Where am I going wrong?? I am a full day into this website and literally can’t get the header, nav, and one section working correctly with Bootstrap and my own styling.