Buddy Up? Rough plan

Hi!

I have a bit of a study plan and I’m looking for people to collaborate with and work through some of the material. I’m just starting out in coding so all experience welcome.

I’m interested in learning computer science, software engineering and also web development so completing free code camp will be a long time goal but not the core of the learning material.

As for learning CS and software: SICP is a textbook from the 80s that has been highly recommended. Although its slightly old, it’s still relevant and very challenging. I’ve heard people say that the problem sets have given even experienced programmers new ways of approaching problems. SICP has plenty of resources online to go with the text, including over 20 hours of harvard lectures from the authors themselves.

Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs
Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs has had a dramatic impact on computer science curricula over the past decade. This long…

Now before you get excited… If you are a newbie like me, you may find this course a bit too technical and requires some previous knowledge (not everyone though, just my subjective truth). That’s where I found another textbook that is seen as a warm-up to SICP. Not officially though. There are many seen as this. “Concrete abstractions” requires less technical and math ability to get you off the ground and will get you used to solving problems in the style of SICP.

The full book can be found here:

The programming language for both books is Scheme (lisp family). It’s not really used these days but is seen as a great educational language and tbh, this isn’t about which language, it’s about thinking like a programmer/computer scientist. I’m sure that after tackling the problems in these courses, learning various syntactical differences shouldn’t be too much trouble.