Can anybody explain what a Wordpress theme is in simple terms and how I can develop these themes on my own?

Hi,
I’ve been looking for ways to make money online without investing a lot of money and working upto 20 hours a week. One such thing I think may fit this is maybe developing wordpress themes on my own. But I have some doubts as I’m completely new to Wordpress.
So can anyone answer my questions:

1. What exactly is a WP theme?
  2. How do I develop them on my own (do I need some specific software other than VS Code) and how much money is needed for this, both the software and/or marketing etc?
  3. What types of themes should I focus on in order to sell them and make some money ($500 a month or more)? and
  4. Can I do this successfully part-time (working on it for up to 20 hrs a week)?

I’m not expecting to make money right away but down the road as I become better at coding.

Thanks for your answers.

It’s a bundle of code using the Wordpress API, made of PHP, HTML, CSS & JS. You can then install it as a theme on a [hosted] Wordpress site. It’s a set of code to make a Wordpress site look/behave a certain way without having to adjust the core code of the site: just go in the admin panel and install it and if it’s been built correctly it will work. There are thousands and thousands and thousands of explanations and descriptions and tutorials for making themes a few keyboard presses away, so do Google.

You need a server running PHP so that you can develop the theme (WAMP was the simplest way to get this running when I used to occasionally build WP sites for people, I assume it’s still that or something similar), you need Wordpress installed on it, you need a text editor, you need the documentation. All of that is free.