Can I actually get a job after completing all the sections on freecodecamp?

I do not have a background in programming or web developing. I have a bachelors degree in Criminal Justice and work full time…so going back to school is not really an option. I heard about this from a friend, but just really want to know before I invest all this time…can I really get a job just from completing the entire curriculum, without having any background in computers?

Thanks for all your help

9 Likes

My background was in Music (with a tiny bit of programming, decades before). I finished FCC, spend another year learning new things, building things, polishing my resume and portfolio, practicing interviewing skills… After a A LOT of interviews, I got a job at 49. #ymmv

You will not qualify for every job. But you don’t need to - you need to get a job. There aren’t many fields like web dev and dev work in general - they care what you have done and what you can do. There are places that will only want CS grads. There are jobs that will need CS grads. But there is also work out there where it doesn’t matter as much. But it’s going to take a lot of work to get there.

20 Likes

Thank you for your response. That is promising to hear.

2 Likes

I didn’t want it to sound too promising. :wink: There is a lot of hard work ahead and this will take longer than you hope. Getting a job will depend on a lot of factors - where you live, your personality, the job market where you are, how well you interview, what kind of contacts you have/grow, etc. And luck. But I believe that if someone is at least of average intelligence and aptitude, if they work hard and don’t give up, the odds of them landing a job will increase over time until the law of averages catches up.

10 Likes

Hi @ruslana1115 !

Welcome to the forum!

I started learning how to code in June of 2020 and now work as a junior developer.
My previous career was in music and never learned how to code before.