Can I land a remote job as a self taught developer

Hi everyone, and a big thanks to this helpful community.

I am trying to land a remote python/backend job.

tried to make a simple reddit clone with django where i use class based views from scratch (inheriting only from the View class), here is the repo: GitHub - nzzCoding/Rambler: The chaotic message board. (for the time being)

the app is not deployed and still need a lot of work, but I just wanted to ask what kind o projects got you your first django or react job, and how complex was it?

should i apply with something as incomplete as that ? (i mean it shows everything needed for the backend)

also i would love to participate in other members react or django projects, as doubt is starting to creep in when working alone.

1 Like

Can I land a remote job as a self taught developer

Sure. Is it likely? Ummm… That gets a little trickier.

It is hard to get a remote job as your first job, especially without a degree. The know almost nothing about you and you want to work remotely, without direct supervision and to just trust you. That is a hard sell. If you get some freelance jobs under your belt, it gets a little easier, but still…

I’m also of the opinion that it is harder to get a backend job as your first job, especially without a degree. It seems that you can do a lot more damage on the backend.

the app is not deployed and still need a lot of work, but I just wanted to ask what kind o projects got you your first django or react job, and how complex was it?

I landed my first job with completing FCC, doing a little open source work, working on some projects in meetups, build some of my own apps - they weren’t complicated but they were well coded. I taught myself React Native, built a toy app with that and deployed it to Google Play. This got me a few RN freelance gigs on upwork, and that got me a “real” job. #ymmv