Career Advice Programming or?

Hi all,

I am looking for just some general career advice. I am 31, Male from the UK (close to London). I am looking for some advice really, I have been working as a Data Analyst for the last 2 and a half years, I have learnt some VBA, SQL and a little bit of R.

I really want to take my career to the next level, I understand this isn’t the ‘traditional programming’ as my experience is more directed towards data science. I am willing to invest into a course providing it gives me value. I have a Marketing degree, which I guess is unrelated, however I did study a statistics module in the degree so it has some relevance.

I am earning around £30-35000 which is not a bad salary for my level of experience, however I really want to be earning around the £50k+ mark which I believe is more than achievable for this career path given the right learning.

So any experience/advice I would greatly appreciate.

Hello @paulr89, welcome to the freeCodeCamp forums!

When it comes to job hunt questions, I usually recommend “going backwards”. If you want a job that pays you that much for that specific field, then go look at the jobs you can apply to that are offering that much.

From there you can see what kind of skills and experience they are looking for. If you already have some experience doing the same kind of jobs, and just want a pay raise I don’t see why you couldn’t apply to a few. Just be sure to setup your resume to “sell yourself” as best as possible for the job at hand.

Now if your missing multiple requirements, you can at least look into some of the ones you are missing to increase your chances, while still applying to the other kind of jobs that work better for you.