Challenges on stuff I haven't seen yet?

Do some of the FCC challenges have methods or concepts that weren’t covered previously?

I am in the middle of the ES6 portion and it asked me to use filter, map and reduce functions which I’m sure I’ve never seen before.

Which really begs the larger question, if I have no prior JS experience whatsoever, should I be taking a beginner course elsewhere before I try FCC curriculum?

I made it through html and css sections relatively easily but it seems like every other challenge in the JS section has got me completely stumped and I end up having to look at the solution to even understand what they’re asking me to do.

A lot of people here, including myself, supplement our fcc education with udemy courses.

But something else I like to do that’s free is to look up “you don’t know javascript” and read that at night, as well as go on hackerank and do every challenge in js.

Also don’t forget to google! It’s not an overnight process so if you feel like you are way in over your head, it’s a great thing.

You will learn so much more.

3 Likes

The javascript section does push forward in a different way than the HTML/CSS section. There is a lot of meat to javascript, and a limited number of lessons to get through it.

Javascript is also, from the student perspective, a paradigm shift – with HTML/CSS, many if not most of the answers were given to you, in the lessons at least. In the challenges, there were some hurdles, but nothing truly difficult.

With javascript, there is a lot more independent study. And this isn’t merely a factor of FCC, it really doesn’t matter where you turn to learn it. This is the beginning of true “programming”. Crafting HTML and CSS is more “design”, while javascript becomes far more programming.