Cheap computers for coding?

hi everyone. i hope you’re all doing well. i’m making this to ask for advice on which relatively inexpensive types/brands of computers work best for coding (i’m a beginner). i’m using a computer supplied by my school at the moment but i’ll obviously need to give it back at the end of the school year (which is next tuesday) so i was wondering what computers i should consider purchasing. i’d prefer cheaper options since i’m a teenager and can’t legally work until my birthday this year. any advice or feedback is appreciated. thanks!
i’m interested in game-related coding (like game development)

Others may have specific brand/model suggestions, but let me just say that you don’t need a fancy computer to do coding. Just about any windows/mac/linux computer in good working order, not too old with decent (but not great) RAM, should work for the types of things FCC has you doing. To be honest, I’d worry more about getting a good size monitor or two.

3 Likes

would a laptop be a feasible option for coding? i should’ve specified laptop rather than desktop in my question

Maybe not the best, but is a pretty cheap idea, maybe try getting a small chromebook.
Chromebooks I have found to be small, cheap, and work with most coding projects that I have worked on.

1 Like

As in all things, it depends. Some types of programming need to run on your computer and can require a lot of resources. Others basically just need a screen and an internet connection. You’re probably fine with something extremely basic.

My suggestion is to consider a desktop instead of a laptop. This allows you to upgrade your hardware if you find yourself needing to.