Computer Science Degree Vs Us

I have looking for the topic all over the internet and found about the CS Degree are considered superior to people like us. I am deeply hurt by this. Why does the industry consider us inferior to the computer science degree holders?

1 Like

I don’t think the industry considers those who don’t have a CS degree inferior to those who do. I have a CS degree and no one cares about it. In a form that it is not a factor for getting hired! you can show you capabilities in other ways.

YOU need an extensive portfolio of recent projects with clear explanations. (Why you made them? Do they add anything to your skills? Are they relevant to the job market?)
YOU should set a crystal clear goal for the future of your job and explain it to the employer in the interview.

1 Like

In sociology, there is the concept of Selection Bias.

What does that mean?

There are 100 developers.

99 of them don’t care if you studied CS or are self-taught, as long as you do your job and are a good team member. These people don’t post on reddit or twitter about the topic, because they don’t care.

Then there is this 1 person, who says CS graduates are superior.

Now you got the perception that everyone says this. And your logic is correct: Everyone **whose post you read** says CS graduates are superior, because you read 1 post and 1 has this opinion (1 / 1 = 100%).

But the selection of the people whose post you read is not valid to get a correct perception of all peoples’ opinions.

So you should always look carefully at who you ask or whose post you read.

5 Likes

First don’t believe you read everything on the Internet.

Second I don’t think that’s true at all.

A large number of folks that make up the IT / Software development world don’t have CS degrees. The field its comprised of vastly different types of people that got to where they are in vastly different ways.