Challenges for Self-Taught Developers in the Job Market: Competing with Degrees and Bootcamps

What are your thoughts on the perception of self-taught developers by employers, especially in comparison to those with CS degrees or bootcamp training? Is pursuing a master’s in Computer Science a viable option to enhance job prospects and overcome potential biases? Please share your insights and experiences below.

Some employers will be averse to it because they believe self taught might be more risky.
While other employers will be more open to it.

At the end of the day, hiring is expensive.
Companies don’t want to waste money hiring the wrong person.

For some companies, they feel safer hiring CS grads because they spent 4 years studying a set curriculum and probably had some sort of internship or two.

Other companies have owners and leadership team members who are self taught so they are more open to hiring bootcamp grads and self taught developers.

As a self taught developer, you have to work really hard to derisk yourself as much as possible.
That includes having strong projects to show, strong activity on github. maybe some open source contributions, good linkedin profile, etc.
Any way you can stand out from the crowd and present yourself in a better light will help you overcome the initial doubt of wanting to interview you.

It might help.
I think having the bachelors in CS would work just fine. It would be even better to have some sort of internship experience while doing your bachelors

3 Likes