CS Master or No Master?

Hello, guys!

I have a question that’s been on my mind for a while.
I want to break into the web-dev field, for now.
I’m currently in the process of getting my bachelor’s degree in economics.
I recently started learning to program, and I like it.

So my question is: is it a good idea to continue my studies with a CS Master or not?

My thinking goes like this: if I have a CS Master’s degree then I would have bigger chances of getting employed as a programmer. Also, I think that I would have a better grasp of the subject matter if I dove into it as an actual student.

I know that there are lots of stories about people getting hired without a degree, especially in the web development field. But, I want to get employed in Germany, where many things, including employment, are often based on certificates. And I want to give myself a chance if I ever want to go to the software development route or data analysis.

And since I’m not from Germany, I figured I would have a better chance of getting employed over a native if I had a Master’s degree.

For the record: a Master’s degree in my country takes 2 years to complete.

if you can get in, and if you have the economic support/stability and not need a job right or can balance with an other job etc - if you have the chance

you are right, a related degree make it easier to get the job
plus, if you are interested in data science a degree in economics should also have given you that pinch of statistics necessary for the field

3 Likes

Thanks for the answer!

yeah i think it’s a good idea as long as you minimize the cost. i remember going to school with a guy from greece who said he had the option to go get his masters in Germany for nearly free, but he went to the u.s. and paid full tuition…

1 Like