I'm losing focus on my journey

Hello everyone, I’ve been a member of FCC not too long ago.

I started my journey around November 2020 (my ultimate goal is to develop apps and websites using react native ).

Although it seems like I’ve been making progress (I’m still learning JavaScript Ajax, fetch and promises).

I’m not really bothered about my progress.

To be sincere, what I’m bothered about is that, I’m coming from a non CS background.

Even though I truly love computer science, (I actually applied to study for computer science, but due to the country I found myself in, I was giving Estate management and valuation and right now, I’m in my 4th year :expressionless: ).

I stay in Nigeria by the way, and even though I’ve heard rumors of self taught developers getting jobs, in my country, the employers still lay emphasis on certification.

My question is, can I study a masters in computer science even though I’m coming from a course which does not relate to computer science? I’ve been trying to self taught on computer science topics from edX and textbooks lately.

I need to ask the right questions so that I won’t waste my Time studying for CS topics, and not getting accepted for masters in computer science.

2 Likes

Yeah, every country is different.

For a point of reference, I was a 47 year old jazz guitarist with a tiny bit of tech, two and a half decades in my past. I became a React Native developer.

I stay in Nigeria by the way, and even though I’ve heard rumors of self taught developers getting jobs, in my country, the employers still lay emphasis on certification.

That may be the case. But remember, you don’t have to get every job, you just need to get one.

My question is, can I study a masters in computer science even though I’m coming from a course which does not relate to computer science?

I’m not sure I understand what you are asking.