Questions about FCC courses and CS degree

Which certification should I complete first? Should I work on them in order?

What is your goal? Do you want to learn web dev completely? Are you only interested in front end or only interested in backend?

Or are you a beginner just trying to explore?

Thanks for the response!

My ultimate goal is to get into software engineering professionally.
(still a beginner here)

I’m seeking guidance on where to start, as there are so many routes that can be taken. I’m a Computer Science major (3.5 years till graduation)

DEBATE
Continue Computer Science degree
OR
Use my time to learn the foundation of a popular language and create projects.

If I put in the time and effort, is it likely to land a job relatively soon (knowing I’m a newbie) by learning a foundation and creating projects for my resume?

If so, what should I create my foundation on?

Lots of CS graduates have told me the schooling didn’t prepare them well for the workplace.

This is why I would like to know if it’s unreasonable to think I can land a job. That way I can surround myself with better programmers to learn from.

If it’s unrealistic, I will continue my CS education and just learn coding skills off this great website.

Appreciate all feedback.

HI @derekwerk !

Welcome to the forum!

As to your initial question, you should complete them in order because that is how the course is designed.

The first four cover frontend javascript, the next two cover backend javascript and the other four cover python.

Continue your computer science degree.
Finishing your degree gives you access to internships, and other career services that most self taught developers don’t have access to.
Having some experience and a degree will become important when you are applying for junior dev jobs.

Building projects and learning the skills is just one part of it.

You also have to understand how the job process works.