Suggestions for landing a Job

Hi, I am a civil engineering graduate from India. However, I always had a liking towards the software sector coz of all the cool stuff that’s happening. I want to be a part of it.

I have started off with fCC courses. Completed Responsive Web Design and now pursuing Javascript and Data Structures.

Do you think I would be able to land a job when I complete the courses ?

Also, what else should I learn or do to get one ?

I would be really happy to get suggestions.

i don’t know much about web development, but from what i’ve read about landing jobs after teaching yourself to code i’d say that the most important things to remember are to do and present personal coding projects to possible employers. even if you don’t have a degree, if you show them what you can do and that you have a good understanding of different web development concepts, that’s a good way to get a foot in the door. also make sure you have your resume and all of that set up. it may also help to take a look at commonly-asked interview questions and rehearse your answers to them. i hope this helps. i wish you the best of luck!

1 Like

Do you think I would be able to land a job when I complete the courses ?

Immediately after completing? Maybe, possibly not. After completing it and spending some more time learning, building things, networking with other developers, getting good at interviewing? Sure, that gets into the “probably” territory. If you’re the kind of person that works hard, doesn’t give up, even if it takes a few years, then I would say very probably.

Also, what else should I learn or do to get one ?

The most important things are what you know and what you’ve built. That’s what attracts their attention. Focus on those. Learn and build. And when you get bored with that, you can change it up and build and learn.

At the risk of some shameless self-promotion, I once wrote a doc with my thoughts on getting the (very difficult to get) first job.

1 Like