Crazy requirements for Front End Developer jobs?

I’m still learning and getting familiar with the basics of front end development, but I was checking local job listing to see what requirements are like in my area. Of course, they all list HTML, CSS, and Javascript, but many of them also have a hundred other things under Required Experience. Things like PHP, mySQL, SaSS, AngularJS, Node.js, MongoDB, JSON, AJAX, Bootstrap, jQuery. One even wanted “fluency with photoshop”. Typically, these postings in my area have roughly half of those skills that I mentioned listed.

I feel a bit overwhelmed as someone trying to break into front end development. Do work places expect people to have all of these skills? Is it possible to break into this field without these or do I just have to buckle down and learn them?
My initial goal is of course, HTML, CSS, Javascript, but do I also need to add three or four of these skills to my list? Or can I geet a job without them initially?

Of course, I’m willing to learn them, I’m just trying to ascertain exactly how much is required to start gaining professional experience.

Any help with this is appreciated.

2 Likes

They cast a big net with wide requirements, but in the end, they’ll just hire the best from the bunch that actually applied that also accepts their salary offer.

So after I’m feeling comfortable with the main stuff should I start shooting out applications? Or do I need to learn node.JS and various other frameworks/CSS precompilers etc. before applying do you think?

Hi,