Currently software tester goal to be C# developer

Originally, I was a web developer doing Ruby on Rails then got involved more on the selenium testing using RSpec and capybara. I got laid off and now fast forward to my current job. I’m now involved in .NET C# environment doing manual testing with no coding. However, my company is providing QA Automation training and the hope is to be writing some code.

Should I stay within the Microsoft realm or spend my free time with front end stuff like HTML, CSS, JS, React, Angular side of web development?

2 Likes

How does Angular integrate with .NET these days?

welp… Microsoft .NET development can also include HTML, CSS, JS, React, Angular and all that. You can use C# on backend and the rest of tech on front end. (Though C#/.NET on front end is coming soon, aka Blazor).

And now, .NET also runs on Windows, OSX and Linux. (.NET Core 2)

3 Likes

Ideally you should try both and see which you enjoy more. C# is a good language but the statically typed languages like C# / Java are probably twice as challenging to learn as JavaScript. .NET is a huge ecosystem and is rapidly evolving because of the open-sourcing of dot net core. Knowing where to start is a real issue.

In my own experience, the front end is more accessible to the beginner. I’ve learned JavaScript and various front end frameworks and they’ve all seemed achievable. But when I tried .NET, I got that sinking feeling…

2 Likes

A gentler way to get on board C# (and have access to all the .NET libraries and frameworks) without learning the more complicated MVC pattern (which can be overkill for simpler projects) is using C# Razor Pages syntax.

I mean, you can even assign your C# variable values to your VueJS or JS code like this. It’s not a neither or. You can use both C#, JS, or other front-end frameworks at same time.

@section customscript {
    <script src="~/build/scripts/app-min.js"></script>

<script>