Do you guys feel this way when you are coding?

I am a new comer. Started my journey at freecodecamp at last year October.
I finished my portfolio a few months ago, now perfecting it, trying to make it more responsive and at the same time eliminate some of the bad code I written.

I felt that I spend more time on thinking “how do I solve A” or “how do I do B” than actual coding…
I spend more time on researching through online articles and books I bought than actual coding…
80% of the time I was scratching my head thinking :“why A does not work??? Do I need to change EVERYTHING??? OMG I SUCK…” then a minute later someone pointed out that I should have use nav a instead of a. That one specificity error makes the whole page messed up…

Is this because I am a newbie?? How many of you guys felt the same way???

One thing for sure is that I know I am improving. That’s for sure. So. That is something keeps me going everyday.

6 Likes

I think this happens with most New learners of coding. Sometimes I realize that I am spending more time on reading articles, books and watching tutorials than actually brushing up on my skills. But I have improved a lot, the process is slower though.

2 Likes

Yeah… I know right… :persevere:

Haha, me too! You are definitely not alone in this :wink:

1 Like

GOOD!! HAHAHHAHHAHAHAHAHHAH!!! :triumph::triumph::triumph::triumph:

lul . jk.
try not to cry, cry a lot.

1 Like

Actually I thought that’s what coding was about :grin: you’re no alone!

2 Likes

Haha. I think you are right!!! Never thought it that way!

If you spend more time thinking of a solution than implementing it, congratulations, you’re moving forward with your career.

3 Likes

Haha . thanks!!! It’s just that sometimes I tried a lot of things, but failed… LUL.
None of them works… :no_mouth: But I will keep trying though!!!