FCC courses vs. programming

Hi all,

I’d like your input on something.

I started FCC and was very excited about the program. Then I started (and finished, 97!) Python for Data Science and CS50 at EdX and found I really enjoy pure programming. I am an artist and designer but I don’t have an interest in web design as a profession.

Should I complete FCC since it is front end based? I’d love to skip to the middle and last section and ignore the front end work (I’ve done some before so I understand how it works with the back end). Perhaps I should stop FCC altogether? I hate quitting things but I need to focus on courses that will lead to a position as a programmer.

Thanks!

1 Like

Only the first chunk of FCC is focused on front end. If what you enjoy learning is logic and back end technologies, you can get by with just enough HTML, CSS, DOM manipulation to slap a face on your application.

2 Likes

Good point, thank you!

Well…ideally I’d love to get into game programming as I have been into games since I was little. I enjoy working with data: storing, updating, presenting. Honestly I enjoy creating the process (algorithms), finding issues, and tackling them. With art, things are arbitrary. With code, it works like it should, or it doesn’t. And I find it very refreshing. I have no experience with CS to choose a path right now and I am concerned that this will lead to bad choices: wasted time and energy on learning languages and concepts I won’t use.

I will check out that github link. Thank you for your reply!

Alright…just checked out the link, amazing! Exactly what I’ve been looking for! I am already signed up for Effective Thinking. Thank you!

Just a quick note: I do not want folks to think that I do not appreciate what FCC does. I think it’s a terrific program, especially since I have been involved in non-profits for 10 years. I have seen how tight the purse strings can become. FCC is such a win-win for all.

1 Like