Fullstack Advice - No University Background

Hi all, my name is Hung and I need some advice from you guys.

I graduated from a technology university, I majored in Biotechnology. My initial start was working in the production department of food companies. It was fine until I got fired in my first job after 10 months. I got few jobs later but none of them worked out. Right now I’m a sales engineer.

I like solving problems, therefore I started learning coding because I wanted to have choices in my life. I aim for Fullstack because I want to have high chances to land a job with good salary and when I have emergency, I can WFH. I bought a course on Udemy and after 3 months, here is my plan:

Frontend: HTML, CSS, Javascript ->Tailwind, React → Typescript
Backend: Node.js, Express.js → MongoDB → APIs
Tools: Git, Github, version control,…

I know there are other tools, framework, libraries,… but is this fine? Do I need to look for newer things? Thanks.

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

Your road map covers all the necessary basics to become a fullstack junior web developer so far.

I would add:

• Deployment including serverless
  • working with headless CMS
  • using backend providers (Firebase etc)
  • testing and debugging
  • best practices for file/ software design
  • AI prompting, I’m sure this will soon be a requirement

You can practice those while building your portfolio projects.

Regarding your projects: Make everything look and feel like a commercial pro application to stand out. Invest in some design, either yourself or buy templates/ services.

If you can find businesses and help them out for cheap or for free (I, for example, built Strapi CMS solutions for restaurants), you will have better chances to get hired.

Much success on your way.

I usually recommend working backwards:

This is what you want, so starting here your next step is finding out what sort of job(s) support this lifestyle.