Future for Front/Back End development?

Okay I might be talking out of turn here or might not know what I am talking about really as I have not done much research on this, but is there still going to be a future for Front End development or Back End development?

I am studying full stack development as i would like to one day break away from the corporate world and have my own thing developing websites. But now with WordPress or even Wix anyone can now design and get there own websites up with all the bells and whistles. So will there still be a need for developers moving into that direction? OR am i wrong in thinking this, is there more to what we do then what Wordpress/Wix can do?

There have been tools like Wix or Wordpress since the 90’s. The thing is that they’re simplistic, it’s the difference between a human being and a toy (not that websites built with these tools are less worthy or anything like that, they just have less distinction, less security and less performance, usually), you can always tell the difference and you will never want that for most kinds of businesses. Most blogs do want these types of tools, however.

It’s not a competition, the type of client that wants a website built like wordpress or wix isn’t the type of client that wants to buy a custom-made website. If the product you’re offering is better (security, design, performance, etc…), they will want your work. As i mentioned, this dichotomy always existed, website building tools vs programmers, and it will probably continue to exist for a very long time.

1 Like

Yeah, of course Wix and Wordpress will take some of the low hanging fruit of easy sites and people that don’t want to stand out. Those services will keep getting better and better and will take more and more. But keep in mind that the market for web sites will also be expanding. Which will expand faster? It’s hard to tell. My hunch is that Wix and WP will expand slightly faster than the market expands, but not by much.