Game of Life - help/suggestions

I am having an issue with advancing the iterations in my effort for the Game of Life project and hoping to get some help or suggestions. I am new to React, but familiar enough to have completed the 3 ReactJS projects prior to this.

I am going via the rules mentioned in the Wikipedia entry for GOL. I plan to stick to a pure ReactJS implementation all through, if possible.

Rough flow:

I have a <board> component(or class) that holds the main logic. Inside this multiple nested <cell> components are generated per some variables (well, i have it declared in the state for now but perhaps they will change).

In the <board> component i have a ‘board’ state consisting of an array of length 400(or whatever number - this is a calculated value and is filled in from the componentDidMount). The render method iterates over this number and generates the necessary cells.

All cells are dead by default(‘x’) except a few that are alive(‘j’). These alive cells are the seed and come from a state declaration - an array consisting of numbers that point to an index in the board state array. The cells have props that trigger changes (including a shouldComponetMount condition where i compare the previous and current states). It works fine. My board is generated and the dead/alive cells display as intended.

Functions for calculating the position of a cell (i.e is it an edge etc etc) and getting the ‘neighbours’ are in place. Standalone, they work fine (except a glitch for the bottom left corner cell - which i will be fixing later since it is not pertinent to my immediate problem. In fact the edge functions as a whole are not pertinent as well for the immediate problem on hand). Given a number(an index mostly since mostly they will be called inside a loop) the functions reliably return neighbour cells.

A Start button in my <board> component calls a function that consists the rules. A thought-flow follows:

• i create copies of the board and seed states