Getting a job as self-taught developer

Hi Guys,
i want to know is it true that anyone can learn something online (self-taught) like web development , design , android developer … and can get a job in a company without a degree ?
Please Help!

1 Like

I did it. Lots of others in the community did it. Google “self taught web developer” and you’ll find lots of blog posts about people’s journeys. Also, nocsdegree.com.

4 Likes

Hi @aymencrash, welcome to the forums! Hope you find what you need :smiley:

i want to know is it true that anyone can learn something online (self-taught) like web development , design , android developer … and can get a job in a company without a degree ?

Its very possible to get a job while being self taught. However, you will need to be able to sell yourself as you don’t have an officially recognized degree employers can go off of. This means you will have to rely on your skills and ability to market yourself for a given job.

So yes, its possible, but you need to be able to “sell yourself” without having a degree. Applying for jobs might be tougher, as companies may automate their job application process to not even include those without degrees, but not all companies do this and online applications aren’t the only way to get jobs :slight_smile:

Goodluck!

3 Likes

Anyone that is willing to put in the work and become an equivalent or most likely a better coder than your run of the mill, fresh face graduate.

Degree is not the biggest hurdle. Really, it shouldn’t be a hurdle at all, vast majority of college graduates work in professions unrelated to their major. It’s often used more as a measuring stick that you were able to accomplish something.

If you work hard enough and achieve certain level of competency, then yes, you can get hired and out compete others. It is just not as easy as the phrase “Anyone can do it” sounds. Anyone can learn to play the guitar, they just don’t all get to play on Beale street and make a living with it.