No one is encouraging me to become a self-taught developer!

Hello All,
This is Arjun from India,Everyone around me like" self-taught developer??! whaaaaaaaaatttttttt !!? There is so such thing as that!!! You are a commerce graduate! and you certainly can’t go into IT without a degree in engineeing !!! Don’t waste your time!.."
My Commerce career is so low paying and I got this idea by watching youtube videos . Now my question is , Can a 28 yrs old commerce graduate become a self taught web developer without a CS degree? (Weak at maths too! because I did business maths during my Higher Secondary Education 11th and 12th std )
I need a mentor to guide me in my path as a web developer! I have completed Responsive Web Design course in freecodecamp and got some insights on HTML and CSS . Also I follow clever programmer on youtube and taking 5 day React challenge.I know I still have a long way to go but I need assurance that I am going in the right direction! Someone !!!(Developer preferably) please help/guide/make me your apprentice.

1 Like

okay nice speech :clap:t6: :clap:t6:

1 Like

I also got similar comments while living abroad in Asia

1 Like

HI @arjunbalan !

Welcome to the forum!

It is important to note that cultures and countries around the world will view education differently.

I am based in the states, and the culture is more accepting of self taught developers.

I would strongly urge you to connect with developers within the indian community.
They will be able to given you good advice on how to become a developer because they will have a better understanding of the cultural expectations than an outsider would.

Good luck :grinning:

5 Likes

Hello,
Please don’t get me wrong but my very problem is that I get descriminated because of my education,language,region,etc…, If at all I can get little help is from people like you(friends from outside India).