Github: After deleting a repository

Github: After deleting a repository
0.0 0

#1

If you delete a repository in Github, is there any possible way to add the files you want to the new repository using Git Bash without also adding back what you didn’t want in the old repository? I just want to add the files I want to the new repository and nothing else.


#2

Presumably you still have the repository on your local machine after deleting the remote from GitHub. So create a new directory on your machine and copy over whatever you’d like to save. Then in the new directory run

git init
git remote add origin <your new github url>
git add .
git commit -m "Initial commit"
git push -u origin master

:sunglasses:


#3

The first line reminded me! I had totally forgotten “git init”. Included that and everything worked fine. Sometimes it’s the smallest things… Thanks!