Help with study style / functional programming

Background: I am trying to learn French, because my wife is from there / family trips. I currently work in IT and almost every day I am spending time learning at work. Finally, we are preparing to move cross country later in the year. T the past few weeks I have just felt exhausted when it comes to trying to wrap my head around the concepts of Functional Programming.

I started back on Nov 28, 2016 and have studied / worked on FCC projects for at least 2 hours a day (including the holidays). I have no coding experience aside of playing the game Human Resource Machine. I made it through the Intermediate Algorithms sections and admittedly had to check the answers for hints a couple of times, but I felt confident that I understood what was going on. This leads me to the last week: 3 challenges in on the Advanced section and I decided to stop and get more familiar with functional programming. I feel lost and like I am forgetting things I have already learned. Even on the older challenges that I have completed, I feel like I can’t remember what I did to complete them. Callbacks, .reduce, .call, .apply,… I can explain what these do and I understand them relativity enough to work through simple things. But each step I take when trying to study or do the Advanced Challenges, I feel like I am forgetting or not grasping what I am learning. I have watched videos and read books, but nothing is sticking because I am not actually getting to do it enough to grasp the basics before being thrown to the wolves with these challenges.

Is it suggested to take a break every now and then or should I keep up the pace and eventually this stuff just clicks? Also, does anyone have any suggestions on reading material that isn’t as dry as W3Schools or MDN? I have sitting on my desk in the next to read pile: Eloquent JS and the first two books of YDKJS.