How can one organize proper self education?

I am 26, been working in enterprise dev with C# for 3 years already, yet I can’t really tell that I am a proper developer.
I have a diploma, yet I can’t say I have education.
I want to gain basic knowledge in CS:

1. How computers work in general: CPU, memory, caches, logic, assembler.
  2. How OS work in general: how are they built and how control computer.
  3. How is high level code translated to computer instructions.
  4. Basic math for CS
  5. How networking works
  6. Algorithms

Several times I tried to read fundamental books on Algorithms (Cormen), OS (Knuth), Math but always failed at first chapters because of my inadequate preparation for such books. Just now I abandoned coursera Princeton course on Computer architecture because it’s massive and seems like overkill for such a slow learner like me who just wants to gain general knowledge.
I don’t know how not to get lost in abundance of material online for my goal. Also how to create realistic learning plan and stick to it.

Do you want learn web designing ?

I lean more into Full Stack. I checked certification on this website, but it mostly lacks what I look for.

Seems like GitHub - ossu/computer-science: Path to a free self-taught education in Computer Science! is a perfect choice for me.

1 Like

Here is another option that you may want to consider, Alexandr. Cost-wise, probably similar, but instead of having an “equivalent” degree, you would end up with an actual one.

Another alternative is to do both simultaneously, maybe with a bit of an extra overhead, but it’s all up to the individual’s aims and objectives.

1 Like

Hi @alexandr-osprey !

All of the princeton courses I have seen are intermediate to advanced.
So that is probably why you were having hard time.

Maybe you can start off with introductory computer science courses on edx and coursera and work your way up from there.

1 Like