How do I check if values in Excel are correct with python?

Hello Everyone,

I am new to python, just getting started with it and I was trying to do some task with python. I have an excel file that I want to automatically check if it meets the criteria that I want to set. I know that I have to use openpyxl to open and read/write excel sheets but I do not know how to set criteria for checking.

For example, I want that the python script to check if the first column has values only text then the second column has only double values and the third column has value integer, but, avoid the first row (since its title) and if so then it gives a message that is fine and if not then give a message where the error appears.

Thank you for your time and help

Well you open the file in Python and have some for-loops check these condision.
You need to look at “how” Python is importing the file (propably as 2D-Array) and then do the type checking - which is just:

for text in excel[0]:
  if type(text) != str:
    print("There was some none-text in the first row")

# repeat for 
# type(number) != float
# type(integer) != int

Keep in mind, Python has no strict typing and also automatically adjusts space.
Meaning there is no “double”, only “float”. Same with integer. If a number becomes to big for the datatype, Python adjusts the type under the hood and still shows it as float/int/whatever.

Also in the example, you will get a generic error message for EVERY TIME types don’t match.

Thank you for your reply sir, I will try this out and let you know.

Best Regards

Sir I just checked the code and I have an error in excel which says undefined name ‘excel’. Sorry but I am a newbie in this matter.

Thank you

It is difficult to help without seeing the code you have written.

Thank you for your reply, All I have done is read the information from Excel file with pandas.
I.e

Import pandas as pd
dfs = pd.read:excel(" excel/file", sheet_name = "sheet name", engine= "openpyxl")