How do I get my first programming job?

Hey, so I’m a high school student and I don’t have the time or money attend college full time. Do you think if I practice coding online using services such as freeCodeCamp I can get a programming job within like one or two years? Also, do you reccommend getting any certain certifications or anything? Thanks!

Hey Jackt5, WARNING DO NOT LEAVE HIGHSCHOOL WITHOUT CALCULUS I & PHYSICS 12

Firslty – I understand you don’t have the financial backing to attend university, I live in Canada and there is a system called student loans here which allow you to borrow form the government to attend university. If you have the same system in your country I encourage you to study your mathematics instead of computer programming for now and do freecodecamp on the side. Pursue a Computer Science degree. You are a young kid with unlimited potential and for now a CS degree is your best bet for long term success.

Secondarily – If you are dead set against university there are many certifications like Cisco A+ Network+ that you could obtain to have an IT Background and be more valuable to a tech company. Other than that I would say with the new update of FreeCodeCamp.org you are set to be hireable if you work 5hrs a day minimum for the next year straight. Persistence is key and if you stay persistent I guarantee you success.

I am 22 years old with 2 years of university completed and i’m returning in Winter 2019. I’m attempting to obtain a dual degree in Computer Science and International Relations in order to become wealthy through my coding and understand international issues to create global applications to aid the worlds development and connection. Secondarily I would like to become a foreign minister of Canada.