Guidance on the next step (18 yo)

Sorry for the essay.
My name is Joao I recently became 18 and will be graduating high school this year. I’m currently sharing a bunk bed with my 14-year-old sister. I’m severely anxious/doubtful of my ability to get a job in this field. I’ve been juggling my senior year of high school and Colt Steele’s course for a couple of months now. I’m 45% done with the Udemy course and around 50% done with the freecodecamp.org (Responsive Web Design) course.
I would appreciate some guidance on what to do next.
Questions:

1. Do I swallow the student loan and go to some college for a bachelor’s in Computer Science, go to a coding boot camp, continue the lonely road of self-taught, or join the military?
  2. Are certifications from platforms like Udemy and FreeCodeCamp useful when looking for a job?

Ps: I do have some general knowledge about approaching the job search. I recommend DThompsonDev on youtube.
-A good LinkedIn profile. (To do)
-Volunteer Service.
-A few projects: currently working on a dog grooming website for my aunt with bootstrap 5. Not sure what other projects I should work on… (To do)
-A portfolio website showcasing my projects and skills. (To do)

1 Like

If you can get into college, it is the most reliable way to get a job as a programmer.

Becoming a self taught developer is possible, but it is harder than getting a job out of college.

Joining the military isn’t going to help you be a programmer (probably), but it will give you a job for a while.

2 Likes

To expand on this, there are some more obvious reasons why it’s easier to get a job as a programmer with a degree, and some that aren’t as obvious but just as useful:

1. You get past job filters with your degree
  2. You show you’ve learned at least something while goin[quote=“JeremyLT, post:2, topic:460664”]
    If you can get into college, it is the most reliable way to get a job as a programmer.
    [/quote]