I really need guidance and advice

i m 18yo and i just dont like any of the universities available for me in my country (economics/engineering/healthcare…) so i decided to follow what i wanna do which is coding .i wanna focus all my time on becoming a selftaught progammer . can i plz get some advice on what i should do after finishing the Curriculum ? because i want to build a professionnel career since i ll be quitting university . Am i doing the right thing ? Your guidance is MUCH appreciated and thank you <3

If you can stay in university, I would stay in university. Having a degree makes it far easier to get a job.

That said, if you want to go the self taught route, you’ll want to put in roughly the equivalent of 4 years of coursework so you can demonstrate that your skills and knowledge are as good as those of a college graduate. If you finish everything on fCC, I’d look at other online courses, like CS50, I would look at open source projects, and I would look at other projects you can build yourself.

1 Like

other than resources suggested above, there is also this collection of courses and resources that is roughly the equivalent of a CS degree

if you can, go with a somewhat related university course (mathematics, IT, computer science…) if there is nothing that it is accessible to you, you will need both do the coursework on your own, and also show what you have learned once you go job hunting without a degree, there is where having projects to showcase, and people that can voice for you (networking, networking, networking!) will give you a push in the right direction

3 Likes

the problem is i dont have access to any university related to programing .i never knew about CS50 courses thank you .I can learn without paying right ?cuz i probably wouldnt be able to aford a 1k couse xD

if you want the certificate at the end it should be less than 100$, but you can audit the course for free

1 Like