How I Got a Junior Developer Job

Hey, my name is Ernst Stolz and as of February of this year I work as a web developer at a local company in Germany. I want to share with you my story of how I got there.

I’ve known about freeCodeCamp for almost 2 years now, but this is the first time I dare to share my experiences with the platform and the profession of web development itself.

I studied Computer Science and English linguistics at the University of Osnabrück, Germany. Of course, Germans call it “Informatics” rather than “Computer Science”. I’m not sure why, it’s the same thing behind the name. It’s about programming and the principles of it.

A lot of principles.

When I had graduated in 2016 I knew a lot about those principles, like the MVC paradigm, object-oriented programming, observer-observable pattern, I knew about the theory of colors and about Bezier curves, I knew about the Quine-McCluskey algorithm and the big O notation. That’s right, I wish it meant something else too.

I knew all these things, but one thing I didn’t know – how to code.

Web development? Nothing. I didn’t even know about HTML5. JavaScript? That’s some version of Java, right?

Yep, that’s some graduate with a master’s degree right there.

I should add that I always had an agnostic disposition towards programming. I never liked it. I studied it because at no point in time did I feel like it’s difficult enough to quit on it. So, I just stuck with it instead. For eight years.

I did well. But I never once encountered anything related to web development during my studies. Not one thing. And that’s fine, I guess. You can’t know everything. But I felt like I knew nothing to do with the little I do know. There I was with my diploma and my knowledge, and with no actual coding skills.

I felt like a scam. Here I am with a degree in Computer Science and nothing to show for it. Nobody would hire me. I sure wouldn’t.