How many languages should I know to land a dev job

Hey freecodecamp Community, I hope you all are doing well. I have been surfing the internet like I normally do and I see and check a lot of the subreddits of people who are wanting to become computer programmers, people just like us and people in this community. A lot of people have been asking and wondering how many programming languages they should learn in order to land a dev job. The responses that I seen online were responses that would put me down if I was a beginner.

A lot of people were telling the beginner programmers and people just starting out that they will never land a dev job if they only know one programming language. I just wanted to update you guys and let you know to not always believe what you see online . some of those people have never worked in the industry and they have no idea what they are talking about when it comes to a person without a computer science degree getting a job or someone with a degree that is getting their first dev job.

I know you guys hang out in some of those subreddits and you also surf the web regarding these types of topics. I can’t express enough how important it is to understand that everyone’s path is unique and its own way. some people may search Forever and have to learn multiple Technologies to get a job and some may get one right off the bat . I have a lot to say about this because it is very important that you understand how the process works and what companies want when it comes to hiring a new Dev. I have made a video to express my opinion about this topic in more depth.enjoy

1 Like

I don’t know, I really only know JavaScript and I got a job. (Node is JS for the backend.)