Why do companies expect so many languages from a junior?

Just curious if anyone else has the same problem I am facing. I am currently a full stack developer (Python, HTML, CSS, etc).

I was looking at other jobs in the area for Front End Development (not sure I like full stack) and they want so many languages!! I know HTML, CSS(SCSS), Javascript(JQuery), SQL, but lots of jobs want these and PHP, C#, multiple different frameworks for each of those and more.

Does anyone else think they employers expect too many languages from juniors?

2 Likes

Partially I agree- some companies are just overboard with their expectations. On the other hand some of them require only a general familiarity with given languages- it’s easier to teach an employee stuff that he encountered before :wink:

1 Like

I think companies take a throw everything and see what sticks approach. At least I hope that’s the case as someone looking for entry/junior level roles, I think it’s a bad approach though because many qualified people wont even bother applying.

4 Likes

If you are looking for a front-end development position you will potentially need to know a JavaScript framework beyond jQuery, ie. React, Angular, Backbone.
jQuery is actually considered a ‘library’ not a framework too I believe, to be specific about it.
But yeah I have seen a lot of ‘javascript’ or ‘front-end’ developer type job postings are really jobs for a full stack developer.

1 Like

As a hiring manager I can absolutely assure you that those kinds of job requirements are a total “Christmas wish list” of things our perfect candidate would have as a skill set. The reality is that likely only a few of those things will actually be needed, and some skills transfer over.