How much math do I need to be an effective coder?

I’m just wondering this because I’m trying to patch together a decent portfolio, but I don’t have a strong math background. I’m looking to improve my math background before I apply for jobs. I was a writer before this, so it’s a bit of a culture shock.

What would you guys suggest?

I think that depends on what you mean by math?

I think a coder needs basic arithmetic. Understanding basic algebra will be helpful with variables and formulas, but still pretty basic stuff. If you want to do intense graphics work then you’ll need some geometry a trig. You’re not going to need any calculus.

Just work with what you have. Brush up on your basic math. Work through all the basic operators in JavaScript. Other than that, just work though coding problems and anytime you run into a math concept you don’t understand, look it up or ask. You can learn.

If you want something more proactive, check out things like code wars or hacker rank to work on algorithms. Or seek out math/logic puzzles.

1 Like

Well, specifically I was wondering if I needed anything past Vector Calculus. My husband is a Data Science major, so he volunteered to teach me everything I need to know while I learn how to code.

I … guess I was overthinking just a bit.

I guess it really depends on the branch of coding. If you’re doing Data Science, then I imagine you’d need some heavy math. And of course there are some areas where you’d need some statistics. I imagine that if you were working with signal processing, you’d need some differential equations and Fourier analysis.

But you are on a site devoted to web development. For most web development work, having gotten to vector calculus is more than enough.