How to become a Data Analyst from Hotelier with ZERO tech background

Hi, I’m a hotelier by profession - with zero tech background, and currently an Operations Manager. I’m looking into starting a new career in tech. I started with Data Analytics, Python. Any tips?

How good is your statistical knowledge? Data analysis is a subfield of statistics.

Hi Jeremy,

Thank you for taking time to respond. I would like to further dive into this question by asking back: how do I develop myself in statistics then? Is there a course I can take? Or a step that would help?

A good step would be to answer the question: How good is your statistical knowledge? Or at least what is your math education like?

Out of curiosity, what is pulling you towards DS? It is such a specific choice.

First - learn about what data science work loos like. It may be not your cup of tea.

If it still does not look boring to you…

Khanacademy (free) - complete math up to calculus and linear algebra. There is a statistics course. I reccomend it.

Linux and python skills - lots of free tutorials, you can google them. Try 5 - 10 different ones. Find the one you like and stick to it.
A bit of SQL - there is a nice 4-hour youtube video made by freecodecamp.

Fast.ai for practical lessons on creating/deploying AI models (if you are interested). More emphasis on practical side of things than on math. This is not data science, but a lot of people want to get into DS because of AI.

If you want to learn data science / analytics without tech background and want to be employable, think about year(s) of learning (not weeks or few months).

Good luck.

1 Like

A few people have given good answers on learning the skills required, so I’ll give my two cents on the other half of getting your first job, making yourself stand out to potential employers.