How to price myself for the first job

Hi all!

I am still a college student, and have been toying with React Native for a while. Now I have a potential client interested in handing me some tasks of a project which I can work on part time from my studies. I have no clue how to price myself for this first job.

Does anyone have any suggestions how I can evaluate my value and price myself correctly, without any experience negotiating with clients?

Thanks!

This should all be taken with a rather large pinch of salt. I am not a business advisor / your business advisor…

It’s not really about your value, but the value of the product or service you’ll provide, and of course this is wildly variable!

Without knowing anything about you, my very rough algorithm for determining this would be something like:

Work out the scope of the task as best you can.

Turn that into an amount of hours based on your best guess.

Double that, because you will be wrong!

Now figure out what minimum wage for those hours would be in your area (or minimum acceptable wage, to you)

Now double that, because as an unsalaried worker you will have no benefits, leave entitlement, insurance etc.

So, you think it’ll take 1 full week, i.e. 40 hours?

40 x 2 x 15 x 2 = $2400

Then when the client asks for your estimate, you say 2400, without trembling or hesitating.

If that’s too much for them, ask them what budget they have for the work.

They say $300.

So you write a much smaller proposal for them outlining an MVP you think you can produce in 1 day, or whatever amount of time they are willing to pay for.

Or, you take the 300, but that way madness lies…

Edit

This is all based on the assumption you can actually do the work :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Thank you for the reply, Jackson! Yes, I am also not sure how my working ability actually is like when it comes to a real world application.